Please join us! RSVP here.



Lee Dems July Meeting
Thursday, July 26
7 pm networking | 7:30 pm meeting
South County Government Center, 8350 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22309
Lee Dems August Meeting 
Thursday, August 23
7 pm networking | 7:30 pm meeting
South County Government Center, 8350 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22309 

All Democrats and progressives are welcome. Bring a friend! For more information, email info@leedems.org.

Visit the Social Action page for more activities.

andrew brooks

Meet Our 2018 Organizer

My name is Andrew Brooks and I’m working with the coordinated campaign as a field organizer in Northern Virginia. I’m based in Lee District and am thrilled with the excitement I’ve already seen. I was born and raised in Arkansas and am a proud Arkansas Razorback!

My email is 
 and my cell is 501-295-6252. Please reach out to me so we can find time to meet for coffee. #VA18 #TKingCareOfBusiness

Do you like to write about politics? FCDC announces The Blue View, a new online newsletter. Please consider submitting your musings. Contact info@leedems.org to get in touch with Janelle Hartman, Lee Dems’ Blue View coordinator.

Todd Smyth

Todd Smyth, Lee Dems Vice Chair/Technology, makes a point about the importance of canvassing. Also shown, from left, Lee Dems Secretary Michele Menapace, Lee Dems Chair Alex Kirkland, and Greenspring Precinct Captain Marvin Wagner.

Nancy Blethen explains how she got caught up in the effort to reunite refugee children with their families.

Ed Joseph, Lee Dems Precinct Operations Vice Chair, explains how Greenspring Precinct has the highest turnout in Lee.

Lee Dems

Lee District Democrats stand for a brief introduction at the beginning of the meeting.

About 100 people attended the meeting, eager to share information about Democrats’ efforts in Lee District and Greenspring.

An Epic June Meeting 

Thank you to the dynamic team of Democrats at Greenspring Village for hosting us in June and turning out the biggest crowd we’ve ever had at a monthly meeting.

Between Lee Dems and more than 70 members of the Greenspring Democratic Club, nearly 100 people filled the community’s Accotink Room.

It was a glimpse of the magic that our Greenspring precinct pulls off every election, with its outstanding GOTV efforts and eager volunteers handing out sample ballots.

 “It’s amazing what goes on here,” Ed Joseph, Lee’s longtime precinct operations chair, told the audience. “Where other precincts might have two, three or four volunteers, 10 or 15 in a really active precinct, you guys have 40 or 50 on a given Election Day.

“This is the one precinct that I don’t give any thought to. It operates completely independently,” Joseph said, applauding precinct captain Marvin Wagner for his “fabulous work.”

“It’s not just me,” Wagner said. “There’s a whole bunch of us who work very hard.”

We’ll be saluting them and all of our invaluable Lee Dem volunteers when we return to Greenspring Village on December 6 for our end-of-year meeting and holiday gathering.

But there’s no need to wait. Join us on Thursday, July 26, 7 pm networking/7:30 pm meeting, at the South County Government Center, 8350 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22309. 

—Text and photos by Janelle Hartman